Key Stage 4

Hospitality and Catering

Exam Board: WJEC

The course has been designed to support people like you who want to learn about this vocational sector and the potential it can offer you for careers or further study.

By studying Level 1 & 2 Hospitality and Catering, you will be able to:

Demonstrate effective and safe cooking skills by planning, preparing and cooking a variety of food ingredients whilst using different cooking techniques and equipment

Develop knowledge and understanding of the functional properties and chemical characteristics of food as well as a sound knowledge of the nutritional content of food and drinks

Understand the relationship between diet, nutrition and health, including the physiological and psychological effects of poor diet and health

Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of functional and nutritional properties, sensory qualities and food safety considerations when preparing, processing, storing, cooking and serving food

Understand and explore the Hospitality and Catering industry, the job roles and the different types of equipment use to support the industry.

It is recommended that you obtain a copy of the course textbook, which entitled Hospitality & Catering Level 1&2 is written by Anita Tull and Alison Palmer and published by Illumination.

Possible career pathways could entail Hotel Manager, Journalism, Sports Science, Marketing, Product Development, Consumerism, Environmental Health, Food Science, Catering/Chef, Nutritionist, Dietician, Teacher and many more!


The course is split into two units: Unit 1 The Hospitality & Catering Industry (worth 40% of the overall grade and is the summer exam usually sat in June of Year 11) and Unit 2 Hospitality & Catering in Action (worth 60% of the overall grade and is delivered through a Non Exam Assessment (NEA) format).

Unit 2 will be internally assessed by your class teacher and externally moderated. Unit 2 also contains the practical examination where you are asked to produce two dishes with accompaniments in Year 11. You will be given 3 hours to produce this.

It will be awarded for the first time in January 2024, using grades Level 1 Pass, Level 1 Merit, Level 1 Distinction,

Level 1 Distinction*, Level 2 Pass, Level 2 Merit, Level 2 Distinction, Level 2 Distinction*.

April 2024


View the calendar in full