Welcome to PE

Welcome to Physical Education at Newark Academy, we aim to develop competence and confidence in our students to participate in a wide range of physical activities. The curriculum design allows high quality Physical Education to be delivered across the whole department, allowing each and every one of our students the opening for engagement and thrive in whichever sporting activity they desire. All students have access to 2 lessons a week, whilst offering a wide and varied extracurricular programme to extend their opportunities. We also deliver Sports Leadership, through the Sports Leader UK courses, this also enhance the students’ opportunity within the school.

Each student will embark upon a wide variety of Sports throughout Key Stage 3. They will become more expert in skills and techniques throughout the key stage working towards the GCSE criteria. Students are encouraged to become involved in exercise and sporting activities outside the curriculum including our own extra-curricular programme as well as facilitating the school-club links with local amenities. At Newark Academy we give the students the platform to further enhance their sporting prowess as well as making sure they are ready for the next step in school life whether that be GCSE PE or in their core PE lessons at Key Stage 4.

At Key Stage 4 there is the option to take the subject as a GCSE along with core PE.

Core PE studies a varied range of activities that help develop creativity and decision making skills as well as analytical speech about one’s own and others’ performances.

GCSE PE: Exam Board OCR

Applied anatomy and physiology
Physical Training
30% of total GCSE Exam 1
Socio-cultural influences
Sports Psychology
Health, fitness and well-being
30% of total GCSE Exam 2
Practical activity assessment (3 sports)
Evaluating and Analysing Performance (AEP)
40% of total GCSE Controlled Assessment

There are also opportunities to become part of our renowned Sports Leadership Academy and complete Sports Leadership Courses putting skills into practice through a variety of events.

At Key Stage 5 we currently offer the OCR Technical in Sport Level 3. The four core units will be studied, Current issues in Sport, The physiology of Fitness, Sports Coaching and Principles of anatomy and physiology in sport.

Year 2 of the course will be tailored to the cohort enhancing their skills and developing areas of interest to them and their next steps.

Students at Newark Academy have the opportunity to become involved in a wide verity of extra-curricular activities through the Physical Education Department. These are rotated on a seasonal basis and include, Netball, Football, Rugby, Indoor Athletics, Badminton, Indoor Cricket, Basketball, Tennis and Athletics.

We enter a number of leagues, cup, district and county competitions where we have very successful throughout the years. All students are welcome and encouraged to attend the extra-curricular programme.

Information

Key Dates

Export this calendar for calendar apps that support iCal [BETA]

Wednesday 19th September 2018Year 11 CVL Netball Round 2
Emmanuel School
Wednesday 19th September 2018Year 10 Boys Football Friendly
HOME
Thursday 20th September 2018Year 11 Boys Football County Cup Round 1
Tuxford School
Thursday 20th September 2018Year 9 Boys Football
East Leake
Monday 24th September 2018
16:00
Year 11 Girls Football
HOME
Tuesday 25th September 2018Year 9 Boys Football
Rushcliffe
Tuesday 25th September 2018U16 Boys County Football Trials-selected students
Burton Joyce
Wednesday 26th September 2018Year 11 CVL Netball Round 3
Wednesday 26th September 2018Year 10 Boys Football
Christ the King
Thursday 27th September 2018
16:00
Year 7 Girls Football
HOME
Thursday 27th September 2018Year 8 Boys Football
HOME
Wednesday 3rd October 2018Year 9 CVL Round 1
Friday 5th October 2018U13 & U15 East Midlands Swimming team Championship
Nottingham Boys High School
Tuesday 9th October 2018Year 9 Girls Football
South Notts Academy
Wednesday 10th October 2018Year 9 CVL Round 2
Tuesday 16th October 2018U16 County Netball
Emmanuel School
Wednesday 17th October 2018Year 9 CVL Round 3
Tuesday 6th November 2018U14 County Netball
Emmanuel School
Wednesday 7th November 2018Year 10 CVL Round 1
Wednesday 14th November 2018Year 8 CVL Round 1
Wednesday 21st November 2018Year 7 CVL Round 1
Wednesday 23rd January 2019Year 10 CVL Round 2
Wednesday 30th January 2019Year 8 CVL Round 2
Wednesday 6th February 2019Year 10 CVL Round 3
Wednesday 13th February 2019Year 8 CVL Round 3
Wednesday 27th February 2019U15 County Netball
Emmanuel School
Tuesday 5th March 2019U13 County Netball
Emmanuel School
Wednesday 6th March 2019Year 7 CVL Round 2
Wednesday 13th March 2019Year 7 CVL Round 3
Wednesday 20th March 2019U12 County Netball
Emmanuel School
Wednesday 10th April 2019 until Sunday 14th April 2019Sports Tour 2019
Netball and Football tour - DisneyLand Paris

September 2018

MTWTFWE
1
345678
101112131415
171819202122
242526272829

View the calendar in full

Physical Education News

View more news stories